There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

A funny thing happened on the way to the rest of my life June 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 11:35 pm

There’s karma and there’s consequences and there’s backstory I’m just not gonna share with the interwebs, but let’s all just know that I got mine.

And what, exactly, does one do when that happens? If you’re me, and you’ve always done the safe thing and followed the rules and sweet jesus NO I would never jaywalk don’t you know that’s illegal? then you do this.

You say, hey? you know what? I’m going to be alone and miserable this weekend, but I have a shiny card and there’s a city I love halfway across the country where I can wear two (two!) long-sleeved shirts in June and still feel a slight chill. There’s a city with awesome views and amazing opportunities for photography where I can walk down the street alone without fear and where I feel a modicum of familiarity.  And most of all there’s a city that’s different from mine, and right now that’s worth all the credit card debt in the world.

 

8 Responses to “A funny thing happened on the way to the rest of my life”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I wish I could have met you there. I hope you are having a wonderful time!

  2. missy Says:

    Hope you had fun in my city! It’s too bad you got a colder weekend, last week it was in the 80’s in SF!!

  3. Jen Says:

    Congratulations on doing something that sounds from your post to be unexpected, spontaneous and out of character for you. And I mean that with all sincerity because I don’t want you to take what I’m going to say next the wrong way. I’ve been following you and reading your blog for months and months, and have truly enjoyed your blog. But it seems that more and more of your posts contain a “backstory” that I don’t know and am not privy to. I totally get the reasons why you’re not willing to share everything. From what I gather, you’re going through a separation and divorce. I know that you need to protect yourself and your son, but for those of us that don’t know what’s going on in the background or what you mean by “karma” in this post, it doesn’t make for very good blog reading. Perhaps your blog is truly meant for only your IRL friends and family. And I respect that — I truly do. And so I’m going to say goodbye and good luck. Take care!

  4. Miranda Says:

    I hope you enjoyed your weekend!

  5. Craig Says:

    I hope San Fran was fun, and it made you feel a bit less liberal.

  6. C. Carnley Says:

    That is the BEST city. It’s the city where I fell in love. And no doubt, a city I would do just like you, charge the card, and drift away in the cool breezes of sunny San Fran. Go you.

  7. Christine Says:

    <===jealous

    I hope you had a blast!


Leave a Reply

