There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

What a great day April 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 9:05 pm

And what made it great was that nothing special happened.

I picked up A from daycare as soon as  I could.  (Full disclosure: sometimes I don’t fly out the door to get him after work. I know that I’ve got several hours of solo duty ahead of me, and that he’s having a great time playing at daycare. I admit that sometimes I’m not in a rush. It’s ugly but it’s true.)

We sang some in the car on the way home, but mostly he scoped out other drivers and I talked to my mom on the phone.

At home, we just hung out.  We played with the toy I posted about that he recently mastered. We played with all kinds of toys, actually, and things that didn’t become toys until he discovered them (see: ink pen and tupperware lid.) Sometimes he played while I laid on the floor. Sometimes he got so pooped that he lay down beside me.  Those times we watched blues clues and he did his special arm dance when we got a letter.

As he motored around the room, he’d stop. He’d walk over to me and lay his head on my chest. Then he’d give me a kiss and get back up to play.

While we waited for dinner to cool, we went out back. He loves to be outside but isn’t totally sold on our grass. He’s not around grass too much, I’m realizing, and ours sucks. It’s like the brillo pad of grass. I blew some bubbles for him and he loved it. He tried to take over but I could tell he was just going to make out with the wand and it wouldn’t have ended well. Unlike his mother, he doesn’t deserve to have his mouth washed out with soap.

When I put him in the grass, he did the same thing he did yesterday. I have to get a picture. He just stood there (that’s not the frameworthy part) with his hands behind his back. Just rocking and thinking and standing there, arms clasped behind him. So. Cute.

After fun in the bath, he played more while I worked on more of the chores that I do piecemeal throughout the evening. Eventually, about an hour after his usual bed time, I decided to put him down even though he wasn’t fussing. He took his bottle, rocked, and went into the crib happily. He sat there, looked at me, and held his arms up to be picked up.

Ferber says leave him, and I almost always do what Ferber says. But this time my Mommy instinct said pick him up.  So I did. He put his head on my shoulder for about fifteen seconds. Then he wanted back in the crib.

When I left the room, he was sitting up in the crib. I knew the click of the door would trigger the wailing. Except that it didn’t. He played happily for awhile, and at some point during my Modern Family episode he fell asleep.

Thank you, A, for a wonderful night.

 

9 Responses to “What a great day”

  1. Chatham Says:

    That’s too sweet! A just needed a little snuggle first!

  2. Craig Says:

    It sounds like all he does is play. You need to give him some work to do, so he can earn his keep. Laundry, maybe.

    • aggieonboard Says:

      I was just reading today about giving toddlers stools so they can reach the counters to help. I think it would be prudent to hold off on that until he’s a little less wobbly. But yeah, I’m all about him pulling his weight. Forget exploring and discovering the world around him–this kid’s gonna work!

  3. MacKenzie Says:

    I think I would like to see a video of the special arm dance. It sounds cute.

  4. Miranda Says:

    I just posted yesterday about how it was such a mundane sort of day but a GOOD day. A REALLY good day. And I love the good days.

    Glad you had a good day.

  5. Stephanie Says:

    Perfect. Beautifully perfect.


Leave a Reply

