There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Am I the only one? April 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 3:14 pm

Back when I was gestating and thus an infinitely better mom than I am now,  I envisioned myself making delicious and nutritious meals for A from scratch each night.

I perused wholesomebabyfood.com like there was no tomorrow, mentally bookmarking tons of recipes that would nurture my baby mozart and prove my devotion one chickpea at a time. Nevermind that I wouldn’t know quinoa if it slapped my face and made me call it mama;  my kid would dine on nothing but love and organic awesomeness.

Ha ha, right? Last night A consumed:

–cantaloupe (his favorite)

–cheese (no wait, this is his favorite)

–baby bean burritos (frozen, but healthy!)

–grilled chicken (half of one piece only–a meat eater he is not)

–half a strawberry-banana yogurt

What kind of jacked-up  meal is that? Am I the only one throwing random food combinations at my poor child? Please tell me I’m not alone.

 

8 Responses to “Am I the only one?”

  1. Miranda Says:

    Oh, you are SO not alone. For dinner last night, Joshua had:

    two graham crackers

    1/3 of a banana

    1/2 of a piece of cheese

    15 oyster crackers

    two sips of milk (whole, organic…I’m being an awesome mom with organic milk…but not organic cheese or bananas. I’m not THAT awesome).

    So, yeah. I think that’s all he had for dinner. My child is not an eater.

    • aggieonboard Says:

      Oyster crackers are indeed the bomb. A loves yogurt, too, so I’m excited to try the one you recommended in your post today.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    YOU ARE NOT ALONE! I also started off making all of my baby’s food and it was all organic to boot. And then I discovered that my guy preferred jarred baby food to my purees and so I bought organic jarred food. And then he started table food, and now the wheels are comin’ off the wagon. Typical dinner: two bites of meat, a graham cracker, a few bites of egg yolk, half a jar of some sort of puree, a few bites of banana, about 10 peas and a 150 puffs. I swear this kid would eat puffs all the live long day if I let him, and I’m pretty sure puffs have no significant nutritional value. On top of that, we never know what he’ll actually want to eat on any given night, so we end up having a regular buffet on the table in front of him. Setting a bad precedent, you say? You betcha! Do you think I care as long as he’s eating something? Hell to the no!

    • aggieonboard Says:

      A is addicted to Puffs, too. I only give them to him on the way home each day in one of those magical snack cups that’s (almost) spillproof. At least once during the commute he’ll hold one up above his head and sing its praises (literally). What’s in those things?!

    • Miranda Says:

      Hear, hear!! Or is it Here, Here!?

      I have no idea.

      But ditto.

      Except it’s oyster crackers instead of puffs.

  3. Maggie Says:

    Hi! I just want to say that Yes, Charlotte eats crazy dinners. I try to put together decent lunches so the nanny doesn’t think I am nutso. And I am sorry there is a hater out there 😦

  4. Jenn Says:

    Today I fed Lane cream cheese with peach and avocado puree (got it from wholesomebabyfood) and thought to myself, WTF am I doing feeding this slop to my kid?!?!

  5. WolfSong Says:

    The four food groups are there…what’s the problem? LOL!

    Nah, you’re not alone…wait for the one food phases! My daughter went on a mac and cheese diet for almost a year. It was the only thing she would eat. Then there was the carrot phase. Oh yes, only carrots, nothing else…her skin started to turn orange, literally!

    Little bits of different things in combos lets kids try different things and helps them expand their tastes. May seem odd to us adults sometimes, but for little grazers, it’s perfectly normal.

    BTW, I found your blog through the top five growing blogs feature, and am really enjoying reading it!


Leave a Reply

