There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Like a frog in a blender January 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 8:30 am

Andrew has been really sick with bronchiolitis. Monday night was a 4.5 hour trip to the ER. Tuesday was a trip to the pedi, where we agreed he was on the mend. Wednesday was a barf-fest that culminated in a trip to the pediatric urgent  care and this:

Several nurses, including the apparent Vein Whisperer of the facility searched for a vein for about ten minutes before I suggested they just stab him in the head and get it over with. They said most parents are resistant and squeamish about it, which I don’t get. If it’s the best vein, it’s the best one.

After several drugs and an IV of fluids we were released. Mr. Aggie took the night wakings, which happened every two hours or so. Andrew had a lot of feedings to make up for, since he had only kept down 2 oz of water all day.

This morning I’m blogging live from school, waiting on an update about Stinks. I’d love to regale you with tales of the pedi urgent care ineptitude, such as the nurse who stuck a tylenol suppository up his bum because of his fever and then less than a minute later asked me, “Has he been feverish, mom?” Umm, I friggin hope so, otherwise you just sodomized my child for no good reason.

Alas, work beckons.

 

One Response to “Like a frog in a blender”

  1. Miranda Says:

    I am so sorry Andrew has been so sick. so, so sorry.


Leave a Reply

