There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Update January 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 9:08 pm

I heart our therapist. We’ve been twice. We’ve been late both times. As I told her, I’d rather run over an entire litter of puppies on my way than be late to anything. She’s considering making us be late as one of our assignments. She’s also making me skip one “to-do” every day and replace it with something fun. So far today I haven’t done it.

We’ve made a little progress already, but of course it hasn’t been as speedy as I hope. I’m not the most patient of creatures, so I thought we’d be all better by the second visit. Sigh.

We’re practicing “parrroting” which is exactly what it sounds like. We simply repeat what the other says to make sure we’ve heard correctly. It sounds stupid, but it really works.

I’ve been up since 4 am. so this is a bit disjointed, but I thought you might be wondering.

Also? I’ve been cooking dinner each night, and it’s going great. I rule.

 

4 Responses to “Update”

  1. Miranda Says:

    Hmmm….maybe if I get my H to parrot he’ll actually hear me when I tell him to put his laundry in the hamper if he wants it washed….

    Glad your visits to the therapist are working! Hang in there!

    And look at YOU making dinner!! I still haven’t totally figured that out yet.

  2. stephaniekb Says:

    Good for you guys, I really hope that it is helpful for both of you and helps to resolve some of the anger and resentment.
    I get pissed when R “parrots” me, because he plays dumb and pretends that he didn’t hear me. Reason 237 that we need to go, but he still refuses…

    • aggieonboard Says:

      I think you should consider going alone. I’d be going to the therapist or the attorney. I say that, but of course only you know your situation.


Leave a Reply

