There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

This is getting old. November 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 10:51 am

I’m visiting anotheelementary school today and I just found a suitable place to pump after rejecting:

1. The bathroom in the clinic (nurse’s office) that is used by sick kids to barf and gosh knows what else.

2. A bathroom with no power outlet.

3. A bathroom shared by an entire hallway of teachers,  most of whom will only have a few seconds to take care of business while teaching.

What is it with people and expecting us to pump in bathrooms? That’s so incredibly disgusting. I get that milking is a bodily function, but don’t they realize my baby is going to drink this milk and I’d prefer not to express it in a place where people relieve themselves of last night’s greasy Mexican food?

 

7 Responses to “This is getting old.”

  1. Jess Says:

    Totally feel your pain! So ridiculous!

  2. Craig Says:

    That reminds me of when I was a mascot, and when I would ask for a place to change, people would always suggest the bathroom. Idiots! Did Michael Jackson prepare for his concerts in a public bathroom? I doubt it.

  3. Sarah Says:

    I agree, there are too many germs and bacteria in bathrooms. Yuck!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Are you sure that there isn’t some sort of state law that protects your right to pump your child’s food away from toilets? Here in California, we have a law that says that an employer must provide a room, THAT ISN’T A BATHROOM, to allow nursing mothers to pump. It’s not too much to ask. . . really it isn’t. What state are you in? I’ll do some legal research for you. Trust me. . . I’m a lawyer. 🙂

    • aggieonboard Says:

      Good question. I’m more informed about my rights to breastfeed; I haven’t done any research on pumping. Most days I pump in my own office so it’s a non-issue. I have three trainings off campus next week so I should brush up on Texas standards. Or you can!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Duh! I should’ve guessed what state you’re in given the blog’s name. I blame the sleep deprivation my six month old is causing. Anyway — I’ve got bad news. Texas has not enacted a specific law that mandates employers provide a place for pumping. Instead, the state has acknowledged that breastfeeding must be encouraged and is the best method of infant nutrition (see Section 165.001), and that a business can designate itself as “mother friendly” if it developes a policy that supports the practice of worksite breastfeeding. There are certain requirements such as work schedule flexibility and providing a location that allows privacy. I didn’t see anything about the employer having to provide an alternative to the restroom. Sorry!

    • aggieonboard Says:

      The blog name isn’t a sure giveaway; I hear there are Aggies in NM and FL, too. I figured as much on the lack of guaranteed pumping facilities. I’ll be at conferences three days this week so I’m sure I’ll have more stories to share.

      Thank you for looking into it for me, and I hope you get some sleep soon. Andrew STTN for the first time right at six months. He doesn’t do it every night, but when he does it’s heavenly.


Leave a Reply

