There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Terror. September 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 8:42 pm

I was giving Andrew his bath when it happened. He sits up in the tub now, with just a few inches of water. I’ve thought often about what I would do if he fell over, and I’m glad I’d had those practice runs tonight.

I was soaping him up and singing when he toppled right over, hitting his head on the side. In the span of a few seconds, or maybe twenty minutes? I had scooped him out of the water and hugged him to me as he sputtered and cried.

I did exactly what I was supposed to. I did everything right.

I will still be haunted by the image of his face underwater for quite some time.

ANYWAY.

He’s fine. I’m going to be. I’ve got a delicious dinner in my belly. I’ve got a husband to cuddle with and the last two episodes of West Wing to watch.

But still. Tonight I experienced what it’s like to go from mundane to abject terror in less than a second, and I won’t soon be the same because of it.

 

One Response to “Terror.”

  1. Hilary Says:

    I had a similar incident once when Caleb spit up and didn’t turn his head. I can still picture his little face, with the white milk filling up his open mouth. It all happened so fast, I turned him on his side immediately, but the image haunts me. *shudder*


Leave a Reply

