There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Halp. August 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 8:21 am

Just when I thought we had this sleep thing figured out (ha!) Andrew has started rolling from his stomach to his back in the crib and wedging his arm between the crib slats and wall. Then he screams like little Timmy stuck in the well, and I have to go in and rescue him.

Or do I? Am I undoing all the magic of Ferber by rolling him back over? Surely you moms out there can help me.

What did you do in this situation?

 

7 Responses to “Halp.”

  1. Hilary Says:

    I’m already worrying about when Caleb starts rolling over! I don’t have any advice, but hopefully he learns to free his own arm soon!

  2. Rachel Says:

    Pin a blanket or something over the slats so his arm can’t get in there?

    • aggieonboard Says:

      That’s exactly what I would have said pre-Stinks. Apparently that’s a no-no because he could suffocate…somehow.

  3. Craig Says:

    Why’s he on his stomach? I thought that was bad.

    • aggieonboard Says:

      It is, until they can roll over on their own/have the head control to lift and move their heads. Most really prefer it. He slept so much better once he started sleeping that way.

      • Jen Says:

        What I did when we were sleep training with Nathan was if he was certainly stuck and freaking out, then we would move him. Sometimes, when I would go in to check on him he would have his feet hanging out but as long as he was fine, I wouldn’t move him. Just use him as a cue. If he’s screaming, then fix him. If not, I’d let him be.

        And about sleeping on their belly. Once they learn to roll over, they are determined to sleep however they want. I learned this with Nathan. He is now a tummy sleeper up on his knees with his butt in the air. And he likes to sleep with his face right up against the bumper. Scares me all the time. But luckily it’s a breathable one.


Leave a Reply

