There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Just in case I had any dignity left July 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 4:06 am

After reading tonight’s other entry, it’s hard to imagine that I might. I must have, though, because I was duly embarrassed when the wedding coordinator told me this was the only place I could pump.

-Device Memory-home-user-pictures-IMG00145

That would be the righthand sink of the three-stall bathroom that served as the only ladies room in the venue. The chair was mine from the table. I had to pick it up mid-reception and lug it with me to the restroom and back to the table when I was done. This prime location also faced the door, insuring that anyone who was in the hallway or on the way to the men’s room got an eyefull each time the door swung open. Thank goodness I thought to bring my nursing cover.

I don’t think most people knew what I was doing, especially those closest to my age. Six months ago I wouldn’t have known, either. I certainly got  some strange looks and I know I was the after-bathroom topic of discussion for several people. However, I also got several “Good for you!” and “Awww, someone must have a baby!” comments that were really encouraging.

Breastfeeding makes for many an awkward and inconvenient experience (hello, pumping on the bus/I-35, anyone?) but it is so incredibly rewarding. It makes for good blog posts, too.

 

4 Responses to “Just in case I had any dignity left”

  1. mrs.maybride Says:

    I JUST posted this morning about my experience with pumping while driving. You’re right. It is rewarding to know that I put all those chunks and rolls on my little guy’s legs. Apparently it also makes for good blog fodder.

  2. Christine Says:

    You’re braver than I am. I went out to my car at the wedding I was at a few weeks ago, then walked back in, milk and pump parts in hand and washed them in the bathroom sink.

  3. aggie Says:

    I’m not brave I’m just too cheap to use my batteries.

  4. Sweetpea7628 Says:

    Hey if you’ve got to pump, you’ve got to pump! Go you!


Leave a Reply

