There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Turns out, I was just sleepy July 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 10:30 am

I’ve been feeling pretty down on myself, internets, because I haven’t been motivated to do much with my spawn this summer. I’ve sulked through the days, counting the hours until Mr. Aggie comes home, rarely enjoying my time with Andrew.

I thought I was a bad mom. I thought I was letting him down, and that maybe I even had some  depression going on.

Then, last night, he slept. I went to bed at 10:30, and Mr. Aggie only had to go soothe him twice between then and when he got hungry at 1:30. I fed him, and I was able to cherish that time of rocking and nursing because I’d had several hours of sleep. I wasn’t staring at the wall trying to stay conscious, is what I’m getting at.

He went back down with no fussing at all after that feeding, and I prepared to be summoned in an hour or so to soothe him, per usual. Instead, I woke up on my own at 5:30.

FOUR HOURS OF SLEEP.

He woke up to eat, and I knew it was possible that he would wake up for the day. I was prepared for that, having already accumulated more hours of sleep than ever before in his presence.

But he went back to sleep for…

FOUR MORE HOURS.

I didn’t hear a peep out of him, can you believe it? He woke up happy and smiling at 9:00 and I smothered him in kisses.

And now? We’re loading up the carseat and hitting the road.

I’m wearing a shirt that hasn’t been barfed on (yet) and I’m ready to take on the world.

This has nothing to do with the post, but it makes me laugh for some reason.

This has nothing to do with the post, but it makes me laugh for some reason.

 

3 Responses to “Turns out, I was just sleepy”

  1. C. Vodicka Says:

    Glad you got some rest and are enjoying your time off. He is still just too cute for words!

  2. Jill Says:

    I am telling you, you are at the age where I was the most exhausted. And exhaustion does a lot to you! There were days when I felt like I accomplished nothing except just keeping the child alive…barely. I found a couple things helped- COFFEE (like you don’t know this already) and scheduling things that I HAD to do outside of the house and knew people were counting on me to be there, like Gymboree classes and mom’s group. I was paying for them and too bad if I was too tired. I made myself go. Of course, it’s always nice to meetup with other moms who are equally exhausted and recount tales of how stupid insane lack of sleep makes you. Hang in there!


Leave a Reply

