There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Round One Questions and Answers July 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 11:26 pm

Tiffany asks: Will you find out the sex for baby #2? Assuming you’re having a second baby.

This is something we’ve discussed, and we’re undecided (on the name, not on the furthering of our lineage. I want three, but Mr. Aggie has only signed off on two with an option to renegotiate). I think we’re leaning toward finding out for planning purposes. If we do find out, I want to make it special. We’ll for sure leave the room with it in a sealed envelope and open later, either alone or with family and friends.

Whether we find out or not, we will definitely not tell our name options or final name choices. I urge all of you current and future procreators to do the same. That was hands-down the best decision we made while gestating (well, besides not smoking crack and things like that). No one knew, so no one could give us crap about our choices. Plus, our boy middle name was a tribute to my uncle who passed a few years ago and I wanted to keep that a secret.

Speaking of names, Loretta asks:  Did you pick both girl and boy names for Andrew, or did you wait for him to arrive to name him?

The answer to that question would be, yes. We came up with a girl name quickly, and so we’ve got that in our back pockets for round numero dos. For boy names, we had such a hard time deciding. For about twenty weeks we had it narrowed down to three choices. We each had our favorites (Colin for him, Adam for me) and one that we both were just ok with. At 38 weeks I had a total freakout spaz-a-thon that resulted in a late night trip to Barnes and Noble to pour over baby name books one more time. This inspired a last minute list shake up that wasn’t resolved until after delivery. Adam got the boot (tear) and Andrew and Quinn took its place.

After Lenny made his debut, Mr. Aggie says a nurse told him we should name him Andrew. I have no recollection of this, but then again I don’t remember much from that time (except PAIN. and–no wait, just PAIN). Anyway, this was remarkable because we hadn’t told anyone any of the names up for consideration. Mr. Aggie held our son and declared that he was definitely an Andrew. I would have named him Pot Roast at that point in exchange for some narcotics and a nap, so I was fine with his decision.

Craig asks: Did Andrew get cut in good Jewish fashion? Was that an easy decision or not?

I really didn’t want to circumcise Andrew. This was a very divisive issue for us, because Mr. Aggie was just as adamant that it should be done. In the end, I relented. Legitimate or not, I felt like as a fellow male he should get to make the final call.

That’s all for this installment of Questions and Answers. We’re at my parents’ all weekend, and they’re more than happy to wait on us hand and foot and watch Andrew at the same time. What I’m saying is, I’ve got some free time on my hands for once and I’d love to spend it answering self-centered questions posed by legions of adoring readers. Keep ’em coming!

 

One Response to “Round One Questions and Answers”

  1. MacKenzie Says:

    How would you describe your parenting style?

    Also, good advice about the naming thing. I’ve seen that go wrong a lot.


Leave a Reply

