There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

It’s like being on a diet June 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 10:04 am

You know when you’re on a diet, all you think about is food? Being sleep deprived is like that. All I think about is how to get him to sleep. My dad pointed out what a critical time this is for him developmentally, so now when he wakes up I’m worried not only that he’ll be crabby, but also stupid.

Yesterday I saw my mom put him down for a nap. He fought it (like always) but then slept two hours. Without moving. I tried the same techniques and position, and he woke up every fifteen minutes for two hours until we gave up.

I’ve never really failed at anything the way I’m failing at this, and it’s making me insane. Thank goodness I’m out for the summer now, because if I had to function in the real world, or even put on real pants, I would be hosed. Hosed, I tell you.

At this moment he is finally sleeping on his own, after a thirty minute battle (which isn’t that long, considering his capabilities) but he will most likely awaken in the next ten minutes. And I will cry, because when it comes to getting my baby to sleep peacefully and adequately, I’m a big fat failure.

The next kid is going straight into the crib. I *might* take him/her out for feedings, or I might just figure out a way to shove my boob in there. That one will come out when he/she climbs out.

 

5 Responses to “It’s like being on a diet”

  1. mrs.maybride Says:

    I know this is going to probably sound condescending since I’m sure you’ve tried everything, but do you have a routine that you do with him that signals to him it’s time for bed aside from nursing?

    I’m so sorry! Getting babies to sleep is so difficult! They need it, but they can’t just DO it…I maintain, as I have blogged about before, that the most cruel trick ever played on humanity was us being sent to Earth unable to fall asleep on our own.

  2. aggieonboard Says:

    That’s not condescending, it’s crucial advice. Yes, we’re working off a fairly new routine, so that’s certainly a factor. Today’s naps have been a success not because of their duration but because he’s going down without expecting to nurse.

    The first nap, as you read, took 30 minutes for him to go down. I did the same routine (our nap routine is more established since it’s just me and him and there aren’t other variables like dinner, etc). This time he went down in 10 and was much more peaceful. I hope that our nap success will translate to nighttime success, soon.

    Thanks for your help, and I agree with you on the cruelty–though I think cellulite might be worse. Eventually I’ll sleep, but my cottage cheese thighs are forever.

    You’re welcome for the visual.

    • mrs.maybride Says:

      Don’t forget pancake boobs from the BFing, though I suppose, thanks to the wonders of modern medicine, those don’t have to be forever..

      Joshua was a horrible sleeper and still isn’t fabulous. What has worked for us so far is bath, bottle/nurse, bed, starting around 8:00. He’s usually asleep by 9:30 and wakes up sometime after midnight to eat. Also, to get him drowsy, we cradle him in our arms, swaddled, and bounce him on the exercise ball I bought to sit on when I was trying to get him out and had delusions of a med-free, puppies and rainbows birth.

      Whatever you try, stick with it. Good luck.

  3. stephaniekb Says:

    He will get the hang of it someday. I know that’s no help to you right now, but maybe a light at the end of the tunnel?

  4. stephaniekb Says:

    He will get the hang of it someday. I know that’s no help to you right now, but maybe a light at the end of the tunnel?
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!


Leave a Reply

