There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

The Requisite Mother’s Day Report May 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 8:54 am

The glow of my first Mother’s Day was eviscerated by the misery of yesterday so I forgot to write about it. You’ll be happy to know that my laser-burn feels like a sunburn (as Dr. Doom said it would) which isn’t horrendous but is still like having a SUNBURN on my JUNK. Does this mean I can cross that goal off my 100 Things to Do Before I Die list? (In actuality, the only thing on my list so far is “Make a List of 100 Things to Do Before I Die”).

Anywho, Sunday was great. I was a little nervous at first when my ‘Mom’s choice whatever you want breakfast’ ended up being canned cinnamon rolls, but the day improved markedly from there. Mostly we just relaxed and watched forty million episodes of The West Wing. When I got hungry again, Mr. Aggie made me pancakes while I fried myself a couple of eggs. That’s more like it.

Then Mr. Aggie presented me with two fantastic cards, one from him and one from Andrew, with the sweetest messages ever composed by a twenty-something year old man who hates to write.

At the end of Andrew’s message was written the first clue in a scavenger hunt (!) to find my gifts. That’s write, internets, there was more than one gift. I don’t know if Mr. Aggie would have tried so hard had he known yesterday’s adventure would put the kibosh on freaky-freaky for a month. Anyway, the scavenger hunt was well planned with excellent clues, except for the one he put inside the diaper genie (who does that?) which I didn’t see when I changed Andrew’s diaper earlier that morning. This necessitated an excavation I could have done without, but luckily the next clue was found under the handsoap in the bathroom.

At the end of my scavenger hunt I found a fantastic digital picture frame. It’s super fancy, y’all–it even has a remote. Seriously. As I’m typing this, images are changing at one minute intervals (there’s Andrew’s first bath. There he is in BabyLegs. Man I love those.) and it makes me happy.

But wait, there’s more! In the box with the frame was the last clue which led me to Andrew’s gift: a beautiful necklace with his birthstone. (Everybody: “Awwww…”)

Sometimes Mr. Aggie sleeps too late, and sometimes he doesn’t realize he needs to step in with Stinks when I’m about to  go off the deep end, but he’s really a fantastic father and a much better spouse than I deserve.

 

3 Responses to “The Requisite Mother’s Day Report”

  1. C. Vodicka Says:

    Aw! You do deserve that…what a sweet little thing for him to do! That makes me excited for the kiddos we will have….one day…. 🙂

    • april Says:

      Do you know how many blogs I’ve read where moms are BITCHING about getting a digital frame? You’re a lucky mama, but your husband is just as lucky! 😉

  2. aggieonboard Says:

    April, this makes no sense to me. It’s a GIFT for pete’s sake! Ungrateful wenches.


Leave a Reply

