There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Where to start? March 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 6:16 pm

I know it’s been awhile, but given the choice I’d rather neglect my blog than my child. There’s no CPS for blogs, you know. 

The pediatrician insisted we try a fancypants formula this week because his poop hasn’t gotten better (even though I’m doing the diet without fail) and that was a disaster for the first day. Today we’ve gotten it worked out and things are going well. I’m still pumping whenever we give him formula (during the day) so I’m building quite a stash. If I don’t need it, I’ll be able to donate it to a milk bank which is really cool. 

We went to Whole Foods and Target today,  and he was fantastic. He was awake for most of the Target part and I kept worrying he’d start to cry. He was quite distracted by the giant poop he was working on so he didn’t cry at all. He did do a fair amount of grunting, though.

When we got home I could see what all the fuss was about. The blowout was so spectacular that I ended up just cutting off the onesie instead of trying to lift it over his head. It wasn’t one of my favorites, obviously. I can’t describe the carnage to you, except to say that at one point in the clean-up, at the beginning, actually, I looked at him and realized a tiny bit of poop had ended up right between his eyes. I have no idea how that happened. 

What else do I need to report? We went to my parents this weekend and had Stinks’ first night away from home. He did great and was adored by all who came to bask in his aura. Family members were so eager to interact with him that I didn’t have to change a single diaper for over twenty four hours. 

I know this is lame, but I’m typing against the clock. I keep sneaking glances at the swing, knowing he’s going to awaken at any moment. Mr. Aggie’s parents will arrive soon to hang out with us (and bring food!) while he’s at class. I’m hoping the kid stays asleep until then, but it’s going to be close. 

For now I’m going to dash off to a few other websites while I have a chance. I promise the blog will be entertaining again, I just don’t know when. Hang in there.

 

2 Responses to “Where to start?”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Well, I’ll speak up on behalf of your blog readers–we forgive you for putting your firstborn before us. Yes, we’re that generous.

    Also, I’m impressed by the wee one’s capacity for poop.

    How long does breast milk keep?

    • aggieonboard Says:

      Depends on the method of storage; up to 10 days in the fridge, a few months in a freezer above a fridge, and up to a year in a deep freezer. That’s where my stash is.


Leave a Reply

