There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Greetings from the land of no nuts, corn, or dairy March 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 8:04 pm

We have no cookies, but we do have happy cows. (Actually, that’s a lie. We do have cookies, but I haven’t baked them yet. I remain quite skeptical.)

The explanation for my crazy diet will likely be insufficient because I’m tired of telling it four million times. Too bad for you.

So last Tuesday, Andrew’s poop turned green. This was, surprisingly, not a cause for concern. I did think I had an oversupply issue breastmilk-wise, so I started working to correct it. When that happens, the baby can get too much of the ‘skim’-esque milk that comes first and not enough of the fatty milk that comes later. This can cause the same issues as a milk protein allergy, which occurs in 2% of babies when they can’t handle the dairy proteins that sneak into mom’s milk.

So my pediatrician has asked that I avoid any foods containing dairy, nuts, or corn (?) for a few days to see what happens in Pooville. Being the dietary moron that I am, I thought “No problem, I don’t really like milk anyway.” Newsflash to the similarly ignorant: milk.is.in.everything.

Frozen fajita chicken? Yep.

Rice Krispie Treats? Uh huh.

Chocolate chip muffins? Oh yeah.

I was able to find less than fifteen items at two grocery stores (SuperTarget and Whole Foods) that I can eat. Luckily there were several staples (chicken, sweet potatoes, vegetables) that I can adapt for the time being. Though can I say the spreadable non-dairy butter-product  creeps me out? I tried to melt it for my dairy-free, peanut-free, gluten-free, egg-free and taste-free brownies, and it wouldn’t melt. It just got increasingly hot and pissed off, to the point that I thought it was going to explode all over my face.

So the next time you stand in front of your overflowing fridge and pantry and think, “Damn, I have nothing to eat” maybe you should take a gander at how many of those options contain nuts or dairy, and consider yourself lucky that you could eat them if you weren’t so damn spoiled and picky. Not that I’m bitter, or anything.

I have to provide a Poo Report (I’ve decided it should be capitalized. For emphasis, you know) to the pediatrician on Friday and we’ll discuss our options at that time. Until then, I’ll be enjoying my soy pudding and cardboard brownies. Those lactose-intolerant people love their desserts, that’s for sure.

 

4 Responses to “Greetings from the land of no nuts, corn, or dairy”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I have a friend who is wildly lactose intolerant, and she pointed out to me that there’s milk in bread. I never would have thought about that.

    Then again, I love milk, so I’d just curl up in a ball at the suggestion of dairy-free life.

    Basically, good luck with the poo.

  2. MacKenzie Says:

    There isn’t any milk in the 5 minute bread recipe I posted last week so if you are in desperate need of some carbs, you should get Mr. Aggie to make it for you, the recipe is easy enough for a male to make (not that I would ever gender stereotype). It doesn’t even need fake butter to taste good.

  3. ecookiemonster Says:

    I had to avoid dairy for 2 weeks, i feel your pain! bummer about no nuts or corn too tho!! DH went to the store and actually found some bread that didn’t have any milk protein… as well as some soups AND strayberry poptarts!!!! GL!

  4. C. Vodicka Says:

    Hope you guys are doing well!!!! That little baby is getting cuter and cuter! 🙂 When do you come back to work?


Leave a Reply

