There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

What do you say? February 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 2:04 pm

img_2595

What’s the proper response when people tell you how gorgeous your child is? I never know what to say. “Thank you” seems wrong since I didn’t personally design him like a dress or mold him like pottery.  This is just what the genetic lottery gave us, and we could have easily done worse (I always expected our child to have a Chris Farley quality, and was especially afraid of it happening to a girl).  “I know he’s perfect” is just rude.

I realize this is a minor issue and a good one to have, but I’m seeking your wisdom oh wise internets. What should I say when the masses fawn over my fabulous spawn? Hehe.

 

8 Responses to “What do you say?”

  1. Daphne Says:

    I think all you can really say is “Thank You” – Even though you didn’t have any say in how he turned out. I guess it’s the same as when people comment on your great shoes – you say thanks, even though you didn’t design them and had no say in how great they really are.

  2. Sweetpea Says:

    I have no clue! I feel the same way. Normally I just say, “I think so too…but that could be becuase she’s mine.” And then I laugh because I’m uncomfotable. Damn us for having beautiful spawn!

  3. Rachel Says:

    Say whatever–if I were you, I’d go with, “Yeah, he’s awesome!” or some variation thereof. Babies are one of those things about which society permits you to be totally shameless.

    In all seriousness, “Thank you” is totally acceptable. They’re paying you and Andrew a compliment, and you did make him from scratch, after all.

  4. Winsy Says:

    He is gorgeous, don’t feel embarrassed to think/say it. I would just reply with “Thanks, we think so too.” “Yeah, we think we’ll keep him.” is another one I’ve heard moms use.

    People expect new moms (or moms in general) to be crazy about their children. Just as long as you don’t call him “preeecious” (like a mom I used to babysit for) no one will actual think you’ve lost it.

  5. nlvaden Says:

    I would come right out and say, “thanks, I know hes farking awsome.” Thats just me though. He is so stinkin’ cute!

  6. Abigail Says:

    A friend of mine simply says: “Thanks! I made him!” Totally catches people off guard, without being rude! 🙂

  7. MrsH723 Says:

    I always say either “Thanks! We like him.” or “Thank you – I made him myself!” with a wry smile on my face. It usually makes people laugh and happy that I’ve accepted their compliment.

    He *is* adorable, BTW. 😉

  8. Brooke Says:

    I usually just go with thank you and a nice long stare. Pretty lame.


Leave a Reply

