There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

There are no words. February 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 7:45 am

It’s 6:38 a.m. and Andrew just went to sleep. He’s fallen asleep numerous times tonight

wait. He’s awake again.

I can’t go get him, I really can’t. A few minutes ago I put him in his swing, against his wishes, because I just couldn’t take it anymore. We’ve been crying together off and on all night because every time you put him down, he wakes up screaming immediately. I don’t know what happened to my happy baby, but I need him back. I’ve slept for one hour in the last 24 and that’s just not going to cut it my friends.

To top it off, I’m pretty  sure we have thrush. This means that when he feeds–and even when he doesn’t–my boobs feel like they’re being sliced with razor blades. It’s a pain I can’t really describe except to say it’s excruciating and I understand now why the primary result of thrush is “premature weaning.” Did I mention all he wants to do tonight is eat? That’s right. There has not been a time longer than 45 minutes since 11 pm that he hasn’t demanded to eat.

I have to get him now before he gives himself an aneurysm.

This sucks.

 

3 Responses to “There are no words.”

  1. Aunt Lori Says:

    I love you. Wish that was more help. I know you can handle this but I’m sorry you have to go through the pain and the sleep deprivation. I remember some of it — most of it I’ve blocked out. I forgot Thrush even existed until I read your latest post. It’s horrible…I can’t imagine it during breastfeeding. Feel free to text or call anytime. I’ll talk if I’m here. My cell isn’t working – in case you texted recently and I didn’t respond…I put it through the wash! Yikes!
    Hope that put a little giggle in your step. Missing you and sending you self confidence and stress free relaxation through cyberspace. Love, me

  2. Rachel Says:

    You poor thing! I already felt bad for you when I read the post, but then I webmd’d thrush–holy crap. Just remember, he will grow out of this phase. And someday, when you’re like, “Oh, he’s just growing up too fast” you can look back at this post and remember that maybe that’s a good thing.

    Good luck!

  3. Brooke Says:

    Oh no 😦 Sorry Aggie. I wish I could help but do know that it will get better, I promise. I know that’s the last thing you want to hear. But do know that Andrew is very thankful for you putting up with his screaming antics.


Leave a Reply

