There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Andrew Update February 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 10:07 pm

I’m too exhausted to make this witty. We had our two week visit to the pediatrician and found out Andrew is officially a chunk, weighing in at 10 lbs 6 ounces (up almost a pound in six days). His cord fell off (!!) allowing us to give him his first real bath as seen here.

andrew2nd-067

In less happy news, the doctor realized that Andrew probably has a fractured collarbone from delivery. The fact that two other pediatricians have examined him on four separate occasions without noticing is extremely upsetting. The doctor said it’s probably almost healed by now and that we shouldn’t be concerned about the fact that we’ve been manhandling him for two weeks while he had a broken bone we didn’t know about.

Deep breath.

He’s been having trouble sleeping at night. That’s not entirely accurate–he’s not bothered at all by the lack of nighttime snooze. Don’t believe me? Here’s a photo I snapped around 4 am this morning:

andrew2nd-044

I’m hoping he’ll decide to go back to sleeping through the night (except for waking up to eat of course) tonight after two nights of this rave-like behavior.  It’s gotten to the point that I can’t relax and turn off the lamp at night because I know he’ll wake up as soon as I drift off, and the sound of his sudden screaming outburst takes years off my life and brings me to tears.

Good times.

 

4 Responses to “Andrew Update”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Congratulations on 1) making it through the harrowing cord-still-on era and 2) not murdering those first two doctors with an ax. I can sense that it wasn’t easy.

    Can you, like, poke him when he sleeps during the day to encourage night sleeping? Or is that not advised?

  2. aggieonboard Says:

    I was so excited when that nasty thing fell off, I can’t even tell you.

    As for the doctors, I make no promises.

    My mom’s on her way over to torture the kid for the afternoon while I sleep. He’s been snoozing all morning in his swing so he should be primed for action. I don’t care what’s advised at this point; I can’t take another night of infomercials.

  3. Aunt Lori Says:

    Oh My God! He is so adorable! I’ve missed you this week. Love your pictures! So proud of both of you…did MA actually give Andrew the chocolate chip? You guys are so brave! We freaked out on everyone who tried to get our kids to taste things (that was pre-anxiety medication) like chips & lemons.
    Please come visit NH again really soon…isn’t anyone getting married out here this year? Don’t you want to get away and show that little guy the “great green room”??? Ya right!
    Just missing you and loving how stunning he is.
    Love, Aunt Lori

    • aggieonboard Says:

      I should have noted in the original post that Mr. Aggie did NOT share his granola bar. We all know sharing is caring, but Andrew’s not quite ready for all of that.

      And you know we’d LOVE to visit (I can travel any time, really. My appointment book is quite empty) if NH was just down the street. The whole cross-country trek just isn’t happening right now. You guys, on the other hand…


Leave a Reply

