There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

It’s Lenny’s due date. Mosel Tov. January 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 2:23 pm
Tags:

It’s hard to know how much detail to include, since I know I have a couple of male readers. I think I’ll just put a disclaimer on this one: if you’re not fond of words like “dilation” and “cervix” and “holy mother of ____” then you might want to skip this post. It won’t hurt my feelings, I promise.

 

 

For those of you still with me, I am quite proud of my fetus today. As you know, I’ve been whining about my slacker cervix for awhile now. At Monday’s appointment, Dr. Doom reaffirmed that I showed no signs of going into labor any time this century. I woke up this morning at 6:00 with lots of cramping and some mild contractions. I’m not too proud to say I gave my cervix many a pep talk over the next couple of hours and even tried to visualize the almighty dilation (even though I’m not totally sure what that would look like).

Laugh all you want, internets, but it worked! When I went in to the hospital for my medicine, I was 1 cm dilated and 50% effaced. I would have done a happy dance if the nurse wasn’t still elbow-deep in my junk.

Then the fun began. As soon as she put the medicine in, I started contracting again. It wasn’t very painful (like a medium menstrual cramp) and it turned out to be the least of my concerns.

You see, I drank about a bottle and a half of water before leaving home. Then I didn’t pee before this whole adventure. So there I am, sans pants, with monitors strapped tightly to my stomach, contracting (which makes your whole abdomen get tight), AND Lenny  starts kicking anything and everything.  I was very thankful that they put down one of those puppy pee pads before I laid down, and I really thought I might lose it a couple of times.

It was one of the most miserable hours of my life. Finally I was paroled and advised to go home and rest so the medicine has time to absorb. Tomorrow I have a date with Dr. Doom to see if I’ve made any more progress. Even if I’m still 1 cm, I’m glad to see my body knows how to do something. However, I’ve been contracting regularly (and it hurts!!) since my departure from the hospital so I hope that’s helping even more.

I think tomorrow or Friday would be a good day to have a baby, but we’ll have to see what the birthdays indicate. I had a plan and I’m sticking to it.

 

One Response to “It’s Lenny’s due date. Mosel Tov.”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Ooh, very encouraging! Go cervix! You can do it!


Leave a Reply

