There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Random Updates from the land of perpetual pregnancy January 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 10:25 am

Let’s see…last night I got up six times to pee over an eight hour span. That was lovely. I didn’t even know that was humanly possible.

Then I almost broke my toe on the door on the way out of the bedroom.  Mr. Aggie woke up enough to inquire briefly about my condition but soon returned to dreamland. I hobbled into the living room to examine my wounds and lament my sad condition. And to whine to you, of course.

I should probably let you know that I’ve decided not to give birth. I’ve done a lot of thinking recently, and I’ve decided I’m just not ready to be a parent. I’m not really sure how we’re going to resolve the current situation (the fact that I have a full term human being living inside of me) but I’ll keep you posted. I mean really, us as parents? What the hell were we thinking?

If the kid does come out against my wishes, we’ve finally gotten to a comfortable place name-wise. As we were perusing name books at Barnes and Noble (again) Mr. Aggie surprised me by being okay with the name “Finn” until we realized that with his last name it sounds like a cutting edge pharmaceutical. About 3 am (after pee break number 3) I realized our fundamental problem is Mr. Aggie’s dumb last name, which I made sure to tell him this morning. He was still pretty drowsy so I’ll mention it again later to make sure he heard me. Anyway, we haven’t made a final decision, but we’re both open to the remaining options.

So today is a day of tying up the rest of the loose ends: creating my calm-inducing iPod  playlist (right), finalizing our phone tree, organizing the mail/filing old mail, getting things ready for my sub, etc. And then, we wait. I will be waiting patiently, unlike the rest of the universe, which is stalking me by phone, facebook, email, and carrier pidgeon. We’re not even due yet, people!

 

3 Responses to “Random Updates from the land of perpetual pregnancy”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Here’s a bright side: remember this post https://aggieonboard.wordpress.com/2008/08/02/disturbing-thought/ ?

    Well, you stubbed your toe ad not only knew what happened, but were able to “examine [your] wounds”!

    Congratulations.

    As to the first part of your post, I have a cousin whose mother memorably reminded her that even stupid people can have babies. Since you are demonstrably not stupid, you and Mr. Aggie are going to be great at it.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Also! I think Finn [last name] sound more like the main character in a tv show about a veterinarian who solves crimes. Airing Friday night on CBS!

  3. aggieonboard Says:

    Rachel, you always have the best comments. Thanks for the reminder about the old ‘rusty bear trap’ post; I had completely forgotten about that.

    Thank you for your vote of confidence in both our veto of the name and of our competence. I just ordered a couple more parenting books to ease my fears.


Leave a Reply

