There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

I tried that once… January 2, 2009

Filed under: pregnancy,pregnancy fears — aggieonboard @ 6:45 pm

Mr. Aggie and I are about to go to dinner (since how many more times will we get that chance without drama?) but I had to share this while it was still fresh in my memory.

We just finished assembling the bouncer (a fine piece of Fisher-Price engineering held together by four screws  and a prayer) and I was reviewing the more asinine points of the instruction manual. I read aloud my favorite ones to him:

Hint: The square end of the toy bar fits into the square socket and the circular end of the toy bar fits into the circular socket.

And the safety warnings:

Never use on a soft surface (bed, sofa, cushion).

Never use as a carrier or lift while child is seated.

Never use as a car seat.

Here’s where it gets interesting:

Me: Dispose of batteries safely. Do not dispose of this product in a fire. The batteries inside may explode or leak. Who the hell would do that?

Him: “I did that with batteries once. They exploded. Just AA’s though. Never tried it with D’s. We were camping. It was sweet.”

My next thought: If that’s what he did, what will Lenny do?

 

3 Responses to “I tried that once…”

  1. Mrs.Rotty Says:

    My husband ate gunpowder and threw himself down stairs to see peoples faces.

    i’m afraid for what my spawn will do.
    crazy boys!

  2. mrs.maybride Says:

    When my husband and I first started dating, we walked past the Easter candy section of a grocery store and he picked up a package of marshmallow Peeps and said “Man, I LOOOVE these!” So, me, being the kind, generous new girlfriend that I was, I bought a couple packs of them to put in an Easter basket.

    He saw them in his basket and got a little giddy.

    Then he proceeded to put several of them on a plate and stick them in the microwave to watch them blow up.

    He doesn’t actually like to eat them. Only torture those sugary-coated marshmallow chickens.

  3. aggieonboard Says:

    I feel better knowing I’m not alone in this. Still, maybe we should make sure our kids (or spouses, for that matter) never hang out, just in case.


Leave a Reply

