There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Merry Christmas, Lenny December 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — aggieonboard @ 9:30 am

Dear Lenny, 

It’s your first Christmas in existence, but it doesn’t really count until you’re “here” and gnawing on people’s presents. Next year you’ll be almost a year old. The next year, if you’re anything like my brother, we may have to put a picket fence around the Christmas tree to keep your grubby hands off it. Good times. 

I’ve been awake since 4:30 this morning, after you head-butted my bladder ever so sweetly. Normally I could go right back to sleep, but this is no normal day. So like any nine year old, I was awake and alone from then until 7:30 when others started stirring. Christmas is a wonderful day in your family, you’ll see. First, we do stockings. Santa really takes care of us stocking-wise. I’m sure you’ll get the hook-up even more than the rest of us. Then, we have a yummy breakfast but you might have to wait until the next year to really enjoy it. 

After that–PRESENTS! Lots and lots of presents. I’m sure you’ll get lots and lots unnecessary, battery operated toys that light up and make obnoxious noises, much to our dismay. Then we have a fabulous lunch, featuring fried and grilled shrimp, and oodles and oodles of dessert. I think you’ll be partial to the chocolate pie, just like your daddy, since you seemed to love it so much last night.

So that’s what you have to look forward to, Lenny. At this point I can’t imagine what it will be like with you here, but next year I’m sure I wouldn’t be able to imagine it without you. 

Love,

Mommy

 

One Response to “Merry Christmas, Lenny”

  1. Aunt Lori Says:

    Well, isn’t that the sweetest thing. Lenny, you are one lucky kid! Your Mommy (and Daddy) certainly love you ‘to the moon and back’. We all are particularly fond of you and you’re not even technically “here” yet. Can’t wait to buy you some of those obnoxiously loud and flashy toys your Mommy referenced. Just wait until next year!!! That ‘popping corn’ little push mower comes to mind as a perfect choice…Yeah!
    I want some of that chocolate pie, too, please.
    Love love love ~ Aunt Lori (Uncle Dave, Jack & Sam, too)


Leave a Reply

