There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

Update from the sticks October 4, 2008

Filed under: pregnancy — aggieonboard @ 11:56 am
Tags: ,

So we’re in my hometown visiting family for the weekend. We live in a metropolitan area about 2.5 hours from here and it’s always…interesting to come back to Smalltown, America. Mr. Aggie hadn’t ever been to a town where Walmart was both the single commerical mecca and town social center before he met me.  It was fun explaining directions from the airport to his relatives for our wedding: “So you’re going to fly into _____, where you’ll rent a car and drive 2.5 hours.” The driving directions actually included the phrase “turn left at the Piggly Wiggly.” Awesome.

I’m sure I’ll see old high school classmates today, since hardly anyone moves away, but my knocked-upedness (new word!) will not be newsworthy. The fact that I’m having my first at 25 is actually more notable since most people around here started popping them out right after high school graduation. Does that sound judgemental? I’m sure it does. I should be more understanding, but I just never could imagine growing up here and staying my whole life. It’s too…stifling I guess. Still, it’s nice to be able to visit Mayberry, especially now that our cell phones get reception here.

We’re off to eat lunch at my favorite Mexican restaraunt (Dr. Doom be damned) then to register at Walmart for our baby shower. There’s no other “baby store” or really, any store, for ninety miles so we need to pick out stuff there. I’m excited.

 

One Response to “Update from the sticks”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I ride on that same judgment train. By the end of my freshman year of college, ten of my classmates (of a class of thirty) were either married or parents/expecting. And notice that’s not an and/or. The circles on that Venn diagram didn’t overlap. And also, I had decided by fourth grade that I wanted to go to college out of state. So, my point is . . . I hear ya.

    Also, BABY GIFTS! SQUUUUUEEEEEEEEEEEE!

    (Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.)


Leave a Reply

