There's a Child Out Here, People. That's the Reality.

Join me on my journey through parenthood. BYOHelmet.

As the belly (and the backside) grows… September 19, 2008

Filed under: pregnancy — aggieonboard @ 8:29 pm
Tags: ,

Notice how the shirt is already straining against the massivosity that is my midsection.

Started with my new class of 5th graders. Have some interesting personalities. I’ve only taught bilingual before, so I’ve never had any white/African American/Eskimo kids. It is different. One boy came with a bad reputation. Everyone apologized when they heard I’d gotten him. We did a get to know you activity where they had to make up 10 truths/lies about themselves. His first entry: “I like to read.” True. Next? “I am bad.” Also true, according to him.

It says something that that label is so ingrained in him already. I saw him first thing in the morning getting in trouble. His teacher was talking to him like he was a misbehaving dog that had just pooped on the carpet. It was just a bad situation. I’m sure I’ll lose my temper with him, don’t get me wrong, but I’m going to make a concentrated effort to let him keep his dignity. I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

Leave a Reply

